Pork Act delegates passed advisements, voted for the next generation of NPB members, ranked industry priorities, recognized award winners, heard from industry experts and set the stage for the future of the pork industry. 

Advisements Passed

Pork Act Delegates passed five advisements that were focused on market demand, animal welfare, human nutrition, management oversight and swine health.

Read more about the advisements.

National Pork Board Candidates

The following candidates were ranked by the Pork Act Delegates to be submitted to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture for appointment to NPB.

  1. Jesse Heimer, MO
  2. Dale Stevermer, MN
  3. Patrick Bane, IL
  4. Kevin Rasmussen, IA
  5. Cathy Vaughan, OK
  6. Seth Krantz, TN
  7. Heidi Flory, PA
  8. John Rauser, MT
  9. Ryan Storm, SD

Industry Priorities Ranked

Pork Act Delegates were asked to rank the following priorities for NPB to help the organization during the planning process for 2025.

Once NPB has compiled the results, this information will be used to facilitate discussions with state executives and industry leaders, as well as U.S. producers.

Award Winners Recognized

During the awards luncheon, deserving indivduals who had left a lasting impact on the pork industry were recognized.

Anne Miller from Montana earned the Paulson-Whitmore Award for State Executives. Miller’s loyalty to Montana agriculture led her down the path as a dual state executive for the Montana Pork Association and Wyoming Pork Producers Council. This award was developed cooperatively between NPB and National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) to recognize outstanding leadership and commitment from state executives.

Distinguished Service Award winner Dr. Paul Sundberg retired in 2023 from his notable career, which included practicing veterinary medicine, working for national pork industry organizations and leading the Swine Health Information Center (SHIC). The Distinguished Service Award, nominated by past presidents of the National Pork Board and presented annually by the Pork Checkoff, recognizes outstanding contributions to the betterment of the U.S. pork industry.